Coleman Hawkins – Wrapped Tight {impulse!}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Hawkins’s last strong recording finds the veteran, 43 years after his recording debut with Mamie Smith’s Jazz Hounds, improvising creatively on a wide variety of material on this CD, ranging from “Intermezzo” and “Here’s That Rainy Day” to “Red Roses for a Blue Lady” and “Indian Summer.” Best is an adventurous version of “Out of Nowhere” that shows that the tenor-saxophonist was still coming up with new ideas in 1965.

01 – Marcheta
02 – Intermezzo
03 – Wrapped Tight
04 – Red Roses for a Blue Lady
05 – She’s Fit
06 – Beautiful Girl
07 – And I Still Love You
08 – Bean’s Place
09 – Here’s That Rainy Day
10 – I Won’t Dance
11 – Indian Summer
12 – Out of Nowhere

Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
Bill Berry, Snooky Young – trumpet
Urbie Green – trombone
Barry Harris – piano
Buddy Catlett – bass
Eddie Locke – drums

Recorded February 22 (1 thru 6), and March 1 (7 thru 12), 1965
at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Count Basie – Mostly Blues… and Some Others {Pablo}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Count Basie’s final small-group studio session (one of a countless number for Norman Granz during Basie’s last decade), this outing features trumpeter Snooky Young (who was last with the orchestra in the early ’60s), tenor great Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis and the dependable guitarist Joe Pass (along with rhythm guitarist Freddie Green). The repertoire lives up to the album’s title: blues and swing standards all played with joy and spirit.

01 – I’ll Always Be in Love With You
02 – Snooky
03 – Blues for Charlie Christian
04 – Jaws
05 – I’m Confessin’ that I Love You
06 – I Want a Little Girl
07 – Blues in ‘C’
08 – Brio

Count Basie – piano
Snooky Young – trumpet
Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor sax
Freddie Green – rhythm guitar
Joe Pass – solo guitar
John Heard – bass
Roy McCurdy – drums

Recorded at Group IV Studios, Hollywood, California; June 22, 1983

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork