Cannonball Adderley – Cannonball’s Bossa Nova {Capitol}

Review by Al Campbell (

A pleasant date recorded in late 1962 with South American musicians the Bossa Rio Sextet of Brazil. Cannonball is heard alongside Sergio Mendes on piano, future Weather Report percussionist Dom Um Romao, and featured on five cuts is Paulo Moura on alto saxophone with Pedro Paulo on trumpet. Unfortunately this release contains little fire, as Adderley didn’t get much rehearsal time with these musicians. Combined with the repetitious nature of the Bossa Nova these proceedings can get tedious. This session was originally released on Riverside, but Adderley took several master tapes (including this one) when he made his move to Capitol.

01 – Clouds
02 – Minha Saudades
03 – Corcovado
04 – Batida Diferentes
05 – Joyce’s Sambas
06 – Groovy Sambas
07 – O Amor Em Paz (Once I Loved)
08 – Sambops
09 – Corcovado (alternate take)
10 – Clouds (single version)

Cannonball Adderley – alto saxophone
Sergio Mendes – piano
Durval Ferreira – guitar
Octavio Bailly, Jr. – bass
Dom Um Romao – drums

On #2,4,5,7,8 add Pedro Paulo – trumpet; Paulo Moura – alto saxophone

Recorded at Plaza Sound, New York City on December 7 (#1,2,6,10),
December 10 (#3,7-9) and December 11 (#4,5), 1962.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork