Wynton Marsalis – Marsalis Standard Time “Volume 1” {Columbia}

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

On the first of three volumes, Wynton Marsalis explores ten standards plus two of his originals with his quartet of the period (which consists of pianist Marcus Roberts, bassist Robert Hurst III, and drummer Jeff “Tain” Watts). Marsalis’ tone is quite beautiful on the well-balanced set; even the ballads have their unpredictable moments. Among the more memorable performances are his treatments of “Caravan,” “April in Paris,” “New Orleans,” “Memories of You,” and two versions of “Cherokee.”

01 – Caravan
02 – April in Paris
03 – Cherokee
04 – Goodbye
05 – New Orleans
06 – Soon All Will Know
07 – Foggy Day
08 – The Song is You
09 – Memories of You
10 – In the Afterglow
11 – Autumn Leaves
12 – Cherokee

Wynton Marsalis – trumpet
Marcus Roberts – piano
Robert Leslie Hurst III – bass
Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums

Recorded digitally at RCA Studio “A” on May 29-30, 1986
and September 24-25, 1986.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork