Joe Henderson – Relaxin’ at Camarillo {Contemporary}[OJC]

Review by Scott Yanow (

Originally on Contemporary, this CD reissue teams the great tenor Joe Henderson with pianist Chick Corea, either Tony Dumas or Richard Davis on bass, and Peter Erskine or Tony Williams on drums. The repertoire includes two songs by Corea, Henderson’s “Y Todavia la Quiero,” the standard ballad “My One and Only Love,” and Charlie Parker’s “Relaxin’ at Camarillo.” This informal session has plenty of fine solos from the two principals and is recommended to fans of advanced hard bop.

01 – Y Todavia La Quiero
02 – My One and Only Love
03 – Crimson Lake
04 – Yes, My Dear
05 – Relaxin’ at Camarillo

Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
Chick Corea – piano
Tony Dumas, Richard Davis – bass
Peter Erskine, Tony Williams – drums

Recorded at Contemporary Record Studio, Los Angeles; August 20 and December 29, 1979.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork


Eliane Elias – Cross Currents {DENON}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Pianist Eliane Elias’ second of two Denon CDs recorded before she hooked up with Blue Note is a lesser-known but worthy session. Elias is mostly featured in a trio with bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Jack DeJohnette performing originals, a pair of Charles Mingus compositions (“Peggy’s Blue Skylight” and “East Coastin'”), “Beautiful Love,” “When You Wish Upon a Star” and Bud Powell’s “Hallucinations.” Elias was quickly developing into a strong modern mainstream pianist. The concluding number (“Coming and Going”) was written by her grandmother in 1927 at age 12 and features Elias with Gomez, drummer Peter Erskine, guitarist Barry Finnerty, percussionist Cafe and nine singers (including a few family members). Well worth searching for.

01 – Hallucinations
02 – Cross Currents
03 – Beautiful Love
04 – Campari & Soda
05 – One Side of You
06 – Another Side of You
07 – Peggy’s Blue Skylight
08 – Impulsive
09 – When You Wish Upon a Star
10 – East Coastin’
11 – Coming and Going

Eliane Elias – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Jack DeJohnette, Peter Erskine – drums
Barry Finnerty – acoustic guitar
Cafe – percussion

Recorded and mixed March 16-21, 1987 at RPM Studios, NYC.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork