Rosemary Clooney with John Pizzarelli – Brazil {Concord}

Review by Paula Edelstein (

As one of the most loved jazz vocalists, modern jazz heroines, and prolific vocalists, Rosemary Clooney gives a very beautiful and feminine side to Brazilian jazz on Brazil, a sensitive musical feeling of 16 ripe standards. This wonderful collection is dedicated to Antonio Carlos Jobim, Frank Sinatra, and Nelson Riddle through her amazing ambience of sensitive phrasing, lovely nuance, and splendid rhythmic shadings. Rosemary Clooney is joined by the lovely Diana Krall on “Boy from Ipanema” in a stunning vocal duet accompanied by Oscar Castro-Neves on guitar. John Pizzarelli sings “Wave,” with the light, airy brilliance of a light kept burning throughout the night, and duets with Clooney on “Desafinado,” “One Note Samba,” “Let Go,” “Dindi,” and the reprise of the title track, “Brazil.” Together they bring a redefined sensitivity and captivation to these Brazilian standards through their excellent harmony and melodic concepts. The songs included on Brazil display the musical integrity, wisdom, and depth of Rosemary Clooney on songs that have withstood the test of popular culture and time.

01 – Brazil
02 – Corcovado (Quiet Nights)
03 – Boy from Ipanema
04 – Wave
05 – Once I Loved
06 – Desafinado
07 – I Concentrate on You
08 – One Note Samba
09 – How Insensitive
10 – Let Go
11 – Dindi
12 – Waters of March
13 – Meditation
14 – Sweet Happy Life
15 – A Day in the Life of a Fool
16 – Brazil (reprise)

Rosemary Clooney, Diana Krall – vocals
John Pizzarelli – guitar, vocals
Oscar Castro Neves – guitar
John Oddo – piano
Gary Foster, Nino Tempo – tenor sax
George Graham, Bob Summers – trumpet
Chauncey Welsch – trombone
Chuck Berghofer – bass
Jeff Hamilton, John Ferraro – drums
Walfredo Reyes, Paulinho da Costa – percussion
Steve Kujala, Brian Scanlon, Dave Shostac, Gary Woodward – flute

Recorded at Village Recorders in Los Angeles, CA; March 15-18 & 25, 1999.
Additional recording at Capitol Records in Hollwood, CA; January 24, 2000
Year: 2000; style: Vocal Jazz, Brazilian Jazz, Bossa Nova

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Oscar Castro Neves – Tropical Heart {JVC}[xrcd]

Review by @brianphoto, Manteca, CA (

Great Brazilian jazz. Oscar Castro Neves is known for his arrangements with major jazz musicians, most notably Laurindo Almeida and Sergio Mendes. Here you have a unique opportunity to listen to Neves on his own with his own group. All the selections are his own compositions. All but two tracks are instrumental. Of the two vocal track, the song “If The Dance Is Over” is my favorite. Original lyrics, a smooth arrangement and tremendous sonics make it a winner. As a whole, the album is very satisfying. JVC’s usual high quality remastering in their XRCD series is wonderfully spacious with a startling presence. If you enjoy Brazilian jazz, this is a great one.

01 – Holding With an Open Hand
02 – You Are My Romance
03 – New Hope
04 – If the Dance is Over
05 – Envelope
06 – I Still Do
07 – My Heart Surrenders
08 – Maya’s Gift
09 – I Have Seen tomorrow
10 – Jasmina’s Perfume
11 – Souvenirs
12 – Tropical Heart
13 – Lullaby for a Magical Child

Oscar Castro Neves – acoustic guitar, nylon string electric guitar, synthesizer, acoustic piano
Don Grusin – acoustic piano, sequencer programming on “Envelope”
Abraham Laboriel – bass
Alex Acuna – drums and percussion
Glen Garrett – woodwinds
Eric Gale – electric guitar
Kate Yanai Markowitz – vocal on “If the Dance is Over”, and background vocals
Bunny Hull – vocal on “Souvenirs”, and background vocals

Recorded and mixed at Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, California; 1996.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork