Oscar Peterson – Digital at Montreux {Pablo}

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)
The title is pretty generic but this duet set from pianist Oscar Peterson and bassist Niels Pedersen has plenty of excellent music from two of the best. Peterson and Pedersen perform six standards and a well-conceived five-song Duke Ellington medley. Few real surprises occur but the duo plays up to one’s high expectations.

01 – Old Folks
02 – Soft Winds
03 – (Back Home Again In) Indiana
04 – That’s All
05 – Younger Than Springtime
06 – Ellington Medley
07 – On the Trail

Oscar Peterson – piano
Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – bass

Recorded at Mountain Studios (Montreux, Switzerland); July 16, 1979.
Year: 1992; style: Classic Jazz, Bop, Piano&Bass Duo, Standards

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork


Kenny Drew Trio – Recollections {Timeless}

01 – Golden Earrings
02 – Les Parapluies de Cherbourg
03 – The Gentle Rain
04 – Chateau en Suede
05 – In Your Own Sweet Way
06 – Copenhagen Blues
07 – Summer Knows
08 – A Foggy Day
09 – Suddenly it’s Spring
10 – Old Danish
11 – Recollections

Kenny Drew – piano
Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – bass
Alvin Queen – drums

Recorded May 14, 15, 1989 at Easy Sound Studio, Copenhagen

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Joe Pass Trio – Eximious {Pablo}[OJC]

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

Joe Pass took time off from his solo guitar projects to record this excellent trio set with bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and drummer Martin Drew. Pass swings hard throughout, is consistently inventive within the bebop tradition, and indulges in close interplay with Pedersen. Together, these musicians make the wondrous seem effortless. Among the highlights are “We’ll Be Together Again” (the one unaccompanied guitar showcase on the program), “Robbins Nest,” “Lush Life,” “Night and Day,” and “Speak Low.”

01 – A Foxy Chick and a Cool Cat
02 – Robbins Nest
03 – Lush Life
04 – Serenata
05 – Love for Sale
06 – Night and Day
07 – We’ll Be Together Again
08 – Everything I Love
09 – Everyting I’ve Got
10 – Speak Low

Joe Pass – guitar
Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – bass
Martin Drew – drums

Recorded at Group IV Studios, Hollywood, CA; May 25 and July 8, 1982.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Ella Fitzgerald and Andre Previn – Nice Work If You Can Get It {Pablo} “Japan”

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

Ella Fitzgerald, who in the late ’50s recorded the very extensive George and Ira Gershwin Songbook, revisits their music on this duet outing with pianist André Previn. Her voice was past her prime by this point, but she was able to bring out a lot of the beauty in the ten songs, giving the classic melodies and lyrics tasteful and lightly swinging treatment. Nice Work If You Can Get It is not an essential CD but is a reasonably enjoyable outing.

01 – A Foggy Day
02 – Nice Work If You Can Get It
03 – But Not for Me
04 – Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off
05 – How Long Has This Been Going On?
06 – Who Cares?
07 – Medley: I’ve Got a Crush on You / Someone to Watch Over Me / Embraceable You
08 – They Can’t Take That Away from Me

Ella Fitzgerald – vocals
Andre Previn – piano
Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen – bass

Recorded on May 23, 1983.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork