Andre Previn, Mundell Lowe, Ray Brown – Old Friends {TELARC}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Andre Previn’s “jazz comeback” has been a welcome event even though he clearly regards his jazz playing as an occasional affair. It is to Previn’s great credit that when he plays improvised music he sounds like a fulltime jazz pianist. This trio outing with guitarist Mundell Lowe and bassist Ray Brown was his third jazz date of the period and features the veteran players swinging standards lightly but with passion. A medley has unaccompanied solos by each of the musicians; other highlights include cooking versions of “Stompin’ at the Savoy,” “One O’Clock Jump,” “Topsy” and “Sweet Georgia Brown” in addition to some heartfelt ballad renditions.

01 – But Not for Me
02 – Stars Fell on Alabama
03 – Stompin’ at the Savoy
04 – Medley: Darn That Dream / Here’s That Rainy Day / Polka Dots and Moonbeams
05 – On O’Clock Jump
06 – Topsy
07 – Medley: The Bad and the Beautiful / Laura
08 – Moonsweeper Blues
09 – Over the Rainbow
10 – Satin Doll
11 – Sweet Georgia Brown

Andre Previn – piano
Mundell Lowe – guitar
Ray Brown – bass

Recorded live at SummerFest La Jolla; a production of
La Jolla Chamber Music Society, on August 24, 1991.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork