Cal Tjader – Solar Heat {DCC}

Review by Ken Secor (

Latin flavor with no loss of swing. I bought this album when vinyl was ‘it’. The quality of the record was terrible and I was crushed because of the outstanding musical talent and awesome vibes of one of my all-time favorite vibraharpists – and the poor quality of the record.
Now that CD’s are it, I would love to get my hands on this great assortment of Cal’s fine playing and some truly brilliant tunes. But alas, today – it appears only a used CD is available. Hopefully, someone will press a few more for Cal’s fans and this – one of his best works – not far from Several Shades epicwise, will return. The line starts here!

01 – Ode to Billy Joe
02 – Never My Love
03 – Felicidade
04 – Mambo Sangria
05 – Here
06 – Fried Bananas
07 – Amazon
08 – La Bamba
09 – Eye of the Devil
10 – Solar Heat

Cal Tjader – vibes
Joao Donato – organ
Bobby Rodriguez or Chuck Rainey – bass
Ray Barretto and Orestes Vilato – latin percussion
Mike Abene – electric piano and harpsichord
Gary McFarland – vibes

Recorded January 15, 1968 at A&R Recording Studios, NY

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork