Wes Montgomery – Boss Guitar {Riverside}[OJC]

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

Guitarist Wes Montgomery’s string of brilliant straight-ahead jazz recordings for the Riverside label was near its end when he recorded this trio outing with organist Melvin Rhyne and drummer Jimmy Cobb. The music swings hard and is highlighted by “Besame Mucho,” “Days of Wine and Roses,” “Canadian Sunset” and “The Breeze and I.” Enjoyable if not essential.

01 – Besame Mucho
02 – Besame Mucho (take 2)
03 – Dearly Beloved
04 – Days of Wine and Roses
05 – The Trick Bag
06 – Canadian Sunset
07 – Fried Pies
08 – Fried Pies (take 1)
09 – The Breeze and I
10 – For Heaven’s Sake

Wes Montgomery – guitar
Mel Rhyne – organ
Jimmy Cobb – drums

Recorded in New York City; April 22, 1963.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork