Gene Harris Quartet – Black & Blue {Concord}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Although there are few actual blues on Black and Blue, pianist Gene Harris gives all of the songs (whether complex standards, ballads or near-blues) a bluesy feel, adding soul and a church feeling to each of the melodies. With the assistance of guitarist Ron Eschete, bassist Luther Hughes and drummer Harold Jones, Harris is in typically fine form.

01 – Another Star
02 – Black and Blue
03 – C.C. Rider
04 – Hot Toddy
05 – The Best Things in Life are Free
06 – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
07 – It Might As Well Be Spring
08 – Blue Bossa
09 – The Song is You
10 – Will You Still Be Mine

Gene Harris – piano
Ron Eschete – guitar
Luther Hughes – bass
Harold Jones – drums

Released on June 29, 1991

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, scans