Erroll Garner – Now Playing: A Night at the Movies & Up in Erroll’s Room {TELARC}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Many of Erroll Garner’s sessions from the 1960s have been reissued by Telarc. This single CD brings back all of the music from two former LPs. Garner and his quartet (bassist Ike Isaacs, drummer Jimmie Smith and percussionist Jose Mangual) romp through 13 songs taken from movies (including “You Made Me Love You,” “I Found a Million Dollar Baby,” “It’s Only a Paper Moon” and even “Sonny Boy”) during the first half of the set while the later session finds the group backed by seven horns arranged by Don Sebesky on nine diverse tunes ranging from swing standards to “The Girl from Ipanema,” “Groovin’ High” and Garner’s lone original “Up in Erroll’s Room.” All of the Telarc Erroll Garner CDs are easily recommended (the pianist never seems to have made an uninspired record) and this one is no exception.

01 – You Made Me Love You
02 – As Time Goes By
03 – Sonny Boy
04 – Charmaine
05 – I Found a Million Dollar Baby (in a Five and Ten Cent Store)
06 – I’ll Get By
07 – Three O’Clock in the Morning
08 – Stella by Starlight
09 – Jeannine I Dream of Lilac Time
10 – Schoner Gigolo (Just a Gigolo)
11 – How Deep is the Ocean
12 – It’s Only a Paper Moon
13 – Newsreel Tag (Paramount on Parade)
14 – Watermelon Man
15 – It’s the Talk of the Town
16 – Groovin’ High
17 – The Girl from Ipanema
18 – The Coffee Song
19 – Cheek to Cheek
20 – Up in Erroll’s Room
21 – (A) Lot of Living to Do
22 – I Got Rhythm

Erroll Garner – piano
Ike Isaacs – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums
Jose Mangual – percussion

Now Playing: A Night at the Movies
Recorded in New York City, July 25, 1964

Up in Erroll’s Room
Recorded in New York City, March 19, 1968
Orchestrations: Don Sebesky

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Benny Carter – A Gentleman and His Music {Concord}

Review by Review by Scott Yanow (

For this 1985 session, altoist Benny Carter (then a week short of turning 78 years old) is teamed with the lyrical trumpeter Joe Wilder and the Concord All-Stars, a contingent that also features tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, guitarist Ed Bickert and pianist Gene Harris. The results are predictably excellent with the septet swinging with spirit and creativity on four standards, a blues and Carter’s original “A Kiss from You.” This album is well worth tracking down.

01 – Sometimes I’m Happy
02 – A Kiss from You
03 – Blues for George
04 – Things Ain’t What They Used to Be
05 – Lover Man
06 – Idaho

Benny Carter – alto saxophone
Joe Wilder – trumpet and flugelhorn
Scott Hamilton – tenor saxophone
Ed Bickert – guitar
Gene Harris – piano
John Clayton – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums

Recorded at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California, August 1985

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork