Astrud Gilberto – Compact Jazz {Verve}

Review by Stephen Cook (
For listeners new to Gilberto’s classic Verve work, this edition of the label’s Compact Jazz sampler series makes for a perfect introduction. Along with Verve’s equally fine Silver Collection of Gilberto’s prime sides, this 16-track set includes cuts from most of the singer’s different projects. From her classic Getz date (“The Girl From Ipanema”) to her solo sessions with both Gil Evans (“Berimbau”) and Ron Carter and Toots Thielemans (“Beach Samba”), the music is always top-notch. A disc that will please both your bossa nova- and jazz-loving friends at that next Carnaval party.

01. The Girl from Ipanema (05:15)
02. Agua de Beber (02:21)
03. Once I Loved (02:14)
04. Goodbye Sadness (Tristeza) (03:26)
05. Meditation (02:42)
06. Berimbau (02:26)
07. It Might As Well Be Spring (04:24)
08. O Morro (Nao Tem Vez) (02:59)
09. Summer Samba (So Nice) (02:39)
10. Corcovado (Quiet Nights) (04:15)
11. Dindi (02:44)
12. Take Me to Aruanda (02:29)
13. Felicidade (02:47)
14. Only Trust Your Heart (04:26)
15. Beach Samba (02:49)
16. How Insensitive (02:48)

Astrud Gilberto – vocals
Stan Getz, Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Gil Evans and Walter Wanderley

Compilation produced 1987

Label: Verve
Year: 1990
Genre: Jazz
Style: Vocal Jazz, Bossa Nova
Total Time: 50:43

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork