Tony Bennett – Steppin’ Out {Columbia}

Review by “All Music Guide” (

Bennett’s tribute to songs that Fred Astaire made famous (including standards by Gershwin, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, and Jerome Kern) is as strong a record as anything he has made recently, including the acclaimed Perfectly Frank.

01 – Steppin’ Out With My Baby
02 – Who Cares?
03 – Top Hat, White Tie and Tails
04 – They Can’t Take That Away from Me
05 – Dancing in the Dark
06 – Shine on Your Shoes
07 – He Loves and She Loves
08 – They All Laughed
09 – I Concentrate on You
10 – You’re All the World to Me
11 – All of You
12 – Nice Work If You Can Get It
13 – It Only Happens When I Dance With You
14 – Shall We Dance
15 – You’re Easy to Dance With / Change Partners / Cheek to Cheek
16 – I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plan
17 – That’s Entertainment
18 – By Myself

Tony Bennett – vocals
Ralph Sharon – piano
Doug Richeson – bass
Clayton Cameron – drums

Recorded at Clinton Recording Studio, NY; released on 1993.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Tony Bennett & Bill Evans Album {Fantasy}[OJC]

Review by William Ruhlmann (
Having completed his relatively brief sojourn with MGM/Verve with 1973’s Listen Easy, Tony Bennett was in the midst of forming his own label, Improv Records, when he made a deal with jazz pianist Bill Evans to cut two LPs, this one for Evans’ label, Fantasy Records, with another to follow on Improv. The singer and his collaborator (“accompanist” does not adequately describe Evans’ contribution, and in any case he received co-billing) got together in a recording studio over four days in June 1975 with no one other than the producer, Helen Keane and an engineer present, and quickly recorded one of the best albums of either’s career. For Bennett, it was a dream project; for years (decades, actually), he had been balancing the demands of commerciality with his own inclinations toward jazz and affection for the songs of Broadway masters and of the Great American Songbook. Left to himself with a jazz partner, he naturally gravitated toward both interests. There were songs here that he had already recorded, but never in so unadorned and yet fully realized a fashion. Evans was an excellent accompanist, using his steady left hand to keep his singer centered, but ready, whenever the vocals were finished, to go off into his characteristically lyrical playing. Bennett could seem a bit earthbound when he came back in (he still wasn’t really a jazz singer), but his obvious enthusiasm for the project, coupled with his mastery of phrasing in songs he understood perfectly made him an equal in the partnership. As far as the major-label record business was concerned, the 46-year-old singer might have been over the hill and indulging himself, but in fact he was in his prime and finally able to pursue his ambitions unfettered, and that would prove itself a major boost to his career over time. For the moment, he’d made an excellent jazz-pop hybrid in which both musicians were shown off to advantage. [The five alternate takes included as bonus tracks on the 2006 reissue of the album are, not surprisingly, more interesting for Evans’ different improvisations than for anything else. But they also demonstrate that he and Bennett tried different approaches to the tunes. The album’s lead-off track, “Young and Foolish,” begins with both Bennett and Evans on the refrain, but the alternate take starts with Evans alone, followed by Bennett singing the song’s introductory verse instead; the version runs a minute longer. The alternate take of “The Touch of Your Lips,” on the other hand, is at a faster tempo and a minute shorter. None of the alternate takes actually improves on the originally released ones, but they show how well considered the album was.]

01 – Young and Foolish 03:54
02 – The Touch of Your Lips 03:56
03 – Some Other Time 04:42
04 – When in Rome 02:55
05 – We’ll Be Together Again 04:39
06 – My Foolish Heart 04:51
07 – Waltz for Debby 04:04
08 – But Beautiful 03:36
09 – Days of Wine and Roses 02:22

Tony Bennett – vocals
Bill Evans – piano

Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA; June 10-13, 1975.

Label: Fantasy / OJC
Year: 1991
Genre: Jazz
Style: Vocal Jazz, Post Bop
Total Time: 34:58

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork