Tommy Flanagan Trio – Sea Changes {AlfaJazz}

Review by Ken Dryden (

It’s easy to understand why Tommy Flanagan has been one of the most praised pianists over the ’80s and ’90s while listening to an excellent trio date such as this CD. With bassist Peter Washington and drummer Lewis Nash, he features a number of songs with oceanic themes, including a tantalizing “How Deep Is the Ocean?,” “I Cover the Waterfront,” and his own snappy title track. Flanagan also delivers a thunderous take of “Relaxin’ at Camarillo” and the smoldering, savory blues “C.C. Rider.”

01 – Sea Changes
02 – Verdandi
03 – Delarna
04 – Eclypso
05 – How Deep is the Ocean
06 – C.C. Rider
07 – Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
08 – Beat’s Up
09 – I Cover the Waterfront
10 – Relaxin’ at Camarillo
11 – Dear Old Stockholm

Tommy Flanagan – piano
Peter Washington – bass
Lewis Nash – drums

Recorded on March 11 & 12, 1996 at Clinton Recording Studio A, N.Y.C.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, scans

Tommy Flanagan – Jazz Poet {Timeless}

Review by Steve Loewy (

By the time of this recording, pianist Tommy Flanagan had been performing for decades — mostly as a sideman — for a who’s who of jazz: players such as Miles Davis, J.J. Johnson, and Sonny Rollins, to name a few. His perfect, yet unassuming style made him the pianist of choice for dozens of musicians. While he has recorded as a leader from time to time, this album may be the best representation of his work available. He performs a set of great tunes (“Caravan,” “Willow Weep for Me,” “St. Louis Blues,” “Lament,” and others) in a topflight trio, with George Mraz on bass and Kenny Washington on drums. Flanagan is at the peak of his powers. Never flashy, never showy, this is just outstanding music performed by a true master who is one of the great bop pianists of the 20th century.

01 – Raincheck
02 – Lament
03 – Willow Weep for Me
04 – Caravan
05 – That Tired Routine Called Love
06 – Glad to Be Unhappy
07 – St. Louis Blues
08 – Mean Streets
09 – I’m Old Fashioned
10 – Voce Abuso

Tommy Flanagan – piano
George Mraz – bass
Kenny Washington – drums

Recorded January 17th & 19th 1989;
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork