Oscar Castro Neves – Tropical Heart {JVC}[xrcd]

Review by @brianphoto, Manteca, CA (cduniverse.com)

Great Brazilian jazz. Oscar Castro Neves is known for his arrangements with major jazz musicians, most notably Laurindo Almeida and Sergio Mendes. Here you have a unique opportunity to listen to Neves on his own with his own group. All the selections are his own compositions. All but two tracks are instrumental. Of the two vocal track, the song “If The Dance Is Over” is my favorite. Original lyrics, a smooth arrangement and tremendous sonics make it a winner. As a whole, the album is very satisfying. JVC’s usual high quality remastering in their XRCD series is wonderfully spacious with a startling presence. If you enjoy Brazilian jazz, this is a great one.

01 – Holding With an Open Hand
02 – You Are My Romance
03 – New Hope
04 – If the Dance is Over
05 – Envelope
06 – I Still Do
07 – My Heart Surrenders
08 – Maya’s Gift
09 – I Have Seen tomorrow
10 – Jasmina’s Perfume
11 – Souvenirs
12 – Tropical Heart
13 – Lullaby for a Magical Child

Oscar Castro Neves – acoustic guitar, nylon string electric guitar, synthesizer, acoustic piano
Don Grusin – acoustic piano, sequencer programming on “Envelope”
Abraham Laboriel – bass
Alex Acuna – drums and percussion
Glen Garrett – woodwinds
Eric Gale – electric guitar
Kate Yanai Markowitz – vocal on “If the Dance is Over”, and background vocals
Bunny Hull – vocal on “Souvenirs”, and background vocals

Recorded and mixed at Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, California; 1996.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork