Ray Brown Trio featuring Gene Harris – Soular Energy {Concord} ”dvd audio-2-cd”

Review by Scott Yanow ~allmusic.com
This album is important as an early milestone in pianist Gene Harris’ second career. Harris, who had led the popular Three Sounds in the 1960s, had been living in obscurity in Boise, ID, for several years before he was urged by bassist Ray Brown to come to the West Coast for some recording sessions. Harris became a permanent member of Brown’s regular trio for quite a few years before launching his own quartet. He had lost none of his technique, soul, or swing in the interim, as he shows throughout this fine release. Seven of the eight numbers (highlighted by “Exactly Like You,” “Teach Me Tonight,” and “Sweet Georgia Brown”) feature Brown, Harris, and drummer Gerryck King playing soulful bop, while “Mistreated But Undefeated Blues” adds guitarist Emily Remler and the tenor of Red Holloway. An excellent effort.

01. Exactly Like You (5:47)
02. Cry Me a River (5:47)
03. Teach Me Tonight (4:51)
04. Take the “A” Train (6:22)
05. Mistreated But Undefeated Blues (4:17)
06. That’s All (5:47)
07. Easy Does It (4:03)
08. Sweet Georgia Brown (8:46)

Ray Brown – bass
Gene Harris – piano
Gerryck King – drums
Red Holloway – tenor saxophone
Emily Remler – guitar

Recorded at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California in August 1984.

Genre: Jazz
Style: Mainstream, Bop, Standards
Label: Concord Jazz
Year: 1985
Time: 45:39

* Original source was a DVD audio rip in 24bit-192kHz; and this share is a self-made imitation CD (converted to redbook standard, 16bit-44.1kHz); which can easily be burned as an “Audio-CD” to an empty media.

Quality-1: flac (tracks, eac, cue, log) + scans from “CD” version (cover+tray+disk)
Quality-2: mp3@320 + scans from “CD” version (cover+tray+disk)

Gene Harris (The 3 Sounds) – Bottoms Up! {Blue Note} “Analogue Productions”

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

The second record by the Three Sounds (which, like too many of their recordings, has yet to be reissued on CD in the U.S.) features the increasingly popular group in prime form. Pianist Gene Harris, bassist Andy Simpkins and drummer Bill Dowdy are in top form performing their brand of funky jazz, which left plenty of room for inventive solos along with the percolating grooves. On this set, the trio plays seven standards (including “Besame Mucho,” “Love Walked In” and “I Could Write a Book”), plus the original “Jinne Lou.” Well worth searching for.

01 – Besame Mucho
02 – Angel Eyes
03 – Time After Time
04 – Love Walked In
05 – I Could Write a Book
06 – Jinne Lou
07 – Nothing Ever Changes My Love for You
08 – Falling in Love with Love

Gene Harris – piano and celeste
Andrew Simpkins – bass
Bill Dowdy – drums

Originally released in 1959 on Blue Note as BST-84014

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork

Gene Harris Quartet – Black & Blue {Concord}

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

Although there are few actual blues on Black and Blue, pianist Gene Harris gives all of the songs (whether complex standards, ballads or near-blues) a bluesy feel, adding soul and a church feeling to each of the melodies. With the assistance of guitarist Ron Eschete, bassist Luther Hughes and drummer Harold Jones, Harris is in typically fine form.

01 – Another Star
02 – Black and Blue
03 – C.C. Rider
04 – Hot Toddy
05 – The Best Things in Life are Free
06 – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
07 – It Might As Well Be Spring
08 – Blue Bossa
09 – The Song is You
10 – Will You Still Be Mine

Gene Harris – piano
Ron Eschete – guitar
Luther Hughes – bass
Harold Jones – drums

Released on June 29, 1991

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, scans