Erroll Garner – Mambo Moves Garner {Mercury}

Review by Scott Yanow (

For this lengthy session, pianist Erroll Garner added a conga player (Candido) to his trio (which includes bassist Wyatt Ruther and drummer Eugene Heard) for the first time. Throughout the remainder of his career he would occasionally play in the Latin idiom. This CD reissue (which adds two songs from the same session to the original LP program) finds the pianist in typically enthusiastic form and the highlights include “Mambo Garner,” “Night and Day,” “Cherokee” and “Sweet Sue.”

01 – Mambo Garner
02 – Night and Day
03 – Mambo Blues
04 – Old Black Magic
05 – Cherokee
06 – Sweet and Lovely
07 – Russian Lullaby
08 – Begin the Beguine
09 – Mambo Nights
10 – Sweet Sue
11 – Imagination

Erroll Garner – piano
Wyatt Ruther – bass
Eugene Heard – drums
Candido – conga

Recorded July 27, 1954 in Chicago.
Year: 1998; style: Bebop, Piano trio

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork


Erroll Garner – Now Playing: A Night at the Movies & Up in Erroll’s Room {TELARC}

Review by Scott Yanow (

Many of Erroll Garner’s sessions from the 1960s have been reissued by Telarc. This single CD brings back all of the music from two former LPs. Garner and his quartet (bassist Ike Isaacs, drummer Jimmie Smith and percussionist Jose Mangual) romp through 13 songs taken from movies (including “You Made Me Love You,” “I Found a Million Dollar Baby,” “It’s Only a Paper Moon” and even “Sonny Boy”) during the first half of the set while the later session finds the group backed by seven horns arranged by Don Sebesky on nine diverse tunes ranging from swing standards to “The Girl from Ipanema,” “Groovin’ High” and Garner’s lone original “Up in Erroll’s Room.” All of the Telarc Erroll Garner CDs are easily recommended (the pianist never seems to have made an uninspired record) and this one is no exception.

01 – You Made Me Love You
02 – As Time Goes By
03 – Sonny Boy
04 – Charmaine
05 – I Found a Million Dollar Baby (in a Five and Ten Cent Store)
06 – I’ll Get By
07 – Three O’Clock in the Morning
08 – Stella by Starlight
09 – Jeannine I Dream of Lilac Time
10 – Schoner Gigolo (Just a Gigolo)
11 – How Deep is the Ocean
12 – It’s Only a Paper Moon
13 – Newsreel Tag (Paramount on Parade)
14 – Watermelon Man
15 – It’s the Talk of the Town
16 – Groovin’ High
17 – The Girl from Ipanema
18 – The Coffee Song
19 – Cheek to Cheek
20 – Up in Erroll’s Room
21 – (A) Lot of Living to Do
22 – I Got Rhythm

Erroll Garner – piano
Ike Isaacs – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums
Jose Mangual – percussion

Now Playing: A Night at the Movies
Recorded in New York City, July 25, 1964

Up in Erroll’s Room
Recorded in New York City, March 19, 1968
Orchestrations: Don Sebesky

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork