Eliane Elias – Cross Currents {DENON}

Review by Scott Yanow (allmusic.com)

Pianist Eliane Elias’ second of two Denon CDs recorded before she hooked up with Blue Note is a lesser-known but worthy session. Elias is mostly featured in a trio with bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Jack DeJohnette performing originals, a pair of Charles Mingus compositions (“Peggy’s Blue Skylight” and “East Coastin'”), “Beautiful Love,” “When You Wish Upon a Star” and Bud Powell’s “Hallucinations.” Elias was quickly developing into a strong modern mainstream pianist. The concluding number (“Coming and Going”) was written by her grandmother in 1927 at age 12 and features Elias with Gomez, drummer Peter Erskine, guitarist Barry Finnerty, percussionist Cafe and nine singers (including a few family members). Well worth searching for.

01 – Hallucinations
02 – Cross Currents
03 – Beautiful Love
04 – Campari & Soda
05 – One Side of You
06 – Another Side of You
07 – Peggy’s Blue Skylight
08 – Impulsive
09 – When You Wish Upon a Star
10 – East Coastin’
11 – Coming and Going

Eliane Elias – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Jack DeJohnette, Peter Erskine – drums
Barry Finnerty – acoustic guitar
Cafe – percussion

Recorded and mixed March 16-21, 1987 at RPM Studios, NYC.

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork