Chick Corea – Solo Piano “Standards” {Concord}

Review by David R. Adler (

Part two of Corea’s solo piano series features standard tunes. There is a preponderance of Thelonious Monk music: “Monk’s Dream,” “Blue Monk,” “Ask Me Now,” and “‘Round Midnight.” Bud Powell, another piano legend whose music Corea has recorded and studied closely over the years, is represented by “Dusk in Sandi” and “Oblivion.” The more universally familiar selections are “But Beautiful,” “Thinking of You,” “Yesterdays,” “It Could Happen to You,” “So in Love,” “How Deep Is the Ocean,” and “Brazil.” Corea knows this music intimately and is uniquely able to mine each selection for fresh insights and possibilities. There are few pianists alive who equal Corea in stature and influence, and this beautiful concert recording reminds us of his continuing importance as an interpreter of jazz tradition.

01 – Monk’s Dream
02 – But Beautiful
03 – Blue Monk
04 – Ask Me Now
05 – Thinking of You
06 – Yesterdays
07 – Dusk in Sandi
08 – It Could Happen to You
09 – ‘Round Midnight
10 – So in Love
11 – How Deep is the Ocean
12 – Oblivion
13 – Brazil

Chick Corea – piano

Tracks 1, 5, 6, 7 & 11 recorded at Symphony Hall, Osaka, Japan – 11/30/99
Tracks 2 & 10 recorded at Yokohama Minato Mirai Hall, Yokohama, Japan – 11/28/99
Tracks 3 & 4 recorded at Club Fasching, Stockholm, Sweden – 11/17/99
Track 8 recorded at Sardinen Club, Bergen, Norway – 11/19/99
Tracks 9 & 13 recorded at Culture & Congress Center, Lucerne, Switzerland – 11/20/99
Track 12 recorded at Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark – 11/15/99

Quality: eac, flac, cue, log, artwork


One response to “Chick Corea – Solo Piano “Standards” {Concord}

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s